Unleash The Archers unveil new album details

Canadian modern power metal band Unleash The Archers has unveiled details of their upcoming studio album, a conceptual follow-up to 2017’s “Apex”.

Less than a year after the release of their covers EP “Explorers”, Canadian quartet Unleash The Archers is back with a brand new 10-track masterpiece in the form of their fifth full-length album “Abyss”.

Thematically, “Abyss” is the direct sequel to the band’s 2017 album “Apex”. Frontwoman Brittney Slayes on the concept: “Our protagonist, The Immortal, is once again awakened at the beginning of our story, but this time he is in an unknown place: a ship out in deep space. He wanders alone for a time, reflecting on his misdeeds, searching for his new master. Finally, he finds him, and learns that it is the Grandson of The Matriarch, our antagonist. The Immortal had taken The Grandson’s father away some sixty years before, to be sacrificed by The Matriarch in a ritual to achieve immortality (the events from Apex) and now the Grandson seeks revenge against The Matriarch with the aid of her own weapon, The Immortal.” 

She continues: “This album is a classic take on good versus evil, light versus dark, The Grandson versus The Matriarch, but it also uses the ‘person versus self’ literary device in that The Immortal is battling with the good and evil within himself, and must decide in the end if he is simply a tool for others to use, or a man with free will and the ability to choose his own path; a struggle I think every human can relate to.”

unnamed (11)

1. Waking Dream
2. Abyss
3. Through Stars
4. Legacy
5. Return To Me
6. Soulbound
7. Faster Than Light
8. The Wind That Shapes The Land
9. Carry The Flame (feat. guitarist Andrew Kingsley on guest vocals)
10. Afterlife (feat. orchestration by Francesco Ferrini)

“Abyss” is dropping via Napalm Records on August 21, 2020 in a CD format, as well as 2LP gatefold vinyl format in original black, limited edition red/yellow swirl (mailorder only, limited to 300 copies), and limited edition purple (North American mailorder only, limited to 100 copies). A limited edition Deluxe Earbook format is also available – the only edition including instrumental versions of each track and bonus alternate synthwave and gothic folk-pop versions of “Abyss” and “Soulbound”, as well as several additional bundles.

Brittney adds: “I hope you enjoy our alternate interpretations of “Abyss” and “Soulbound” because they honestly show a side of us as musicians that we probably wouldn’t be able to showcase otherwise. We all listen to a lot of different genres of music, but these two bonus tracks give huge insight into the music we were listening to as we recorded “Abyss”… not just metal, but synthwave, pop, and even a bit of country!”

The album was once again engineered, mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen of Hansen Studios in Denmark (Volbeat, Delain, Amaranthe), with production by guitarist Andrew Kingsley. The closing track “Afterlife” features orchestration contributions from Francesco Ferrini of Italian symphonic death metal band Fleshgod Apocalypse. Compared to “Apex”, “Abyss” incorporates a weighty dose of synth in the mix, and for the first time ever, all tracks were written on seven strings – adding to the massive expanse of the album’s sound as it explores the celestial realm.

Listen to the snippet of the title track below and stay tuned for more music and videos, coming soon.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.