Album Reviews

Album review: Metalwings – A Whole New Land

The silence has been broken! After 3 years of clinging to “For All Beyond”, Metalwings has just released their newest album “A Whole New Land” on June 11th, 2021. As with many fans, I first discovered Metalwings with their video release for “Crying of the Sun” in 2015 while browsing some metal playlists on Youtube before I, like many others, hopped over to Spotify.

Formed in 2010 in Sofia, Bulgaria by lead vocalist and songwriter Stela Atanasova, Metalwings became the lovechild of classical music elements and melodic metal which formed the symphonic gothic metal sound we have all come to admire throughout their albums. From the strength of their 2016 EP release “A Fallen Angel in Hell” to “A Whole New Land” in 2021, their music has remained much the same while simultaneously growing in force and length. With songs like “Monster in the Mirror” touching on the vocal climax in “A Fallen Angel in Hell”, the same passion that was felt when this band began is still very much present in their latest album.

Mastered by the talented Jens Bogren of Fascination Street Studios (Opeth, Dimmu Borgir, and Amon Amarth among others); the song-writing and musical composition of delicate violins (Stela Atanasova), and passionate drumming (Nikola Ivanov) are amplified in mystical tales with vivid displays of imagery. It is painted on the canvas of the mind by the brush of powerful opera (Stela), intense riffs (Grigor Kostadinov), pounding bass (Vlad Enev), and intricate keys (Angel Kitanov). If only we hadn’t been teased with the release of “Monster in the Mirror” on December 23, 2020 I may not have known what to expect from Metalwings after the gap between their last album and now. I was almost relieved yet, still incredibly excited to hear so much more. “Monster in the Mirror” is a powerful song that lures us in with mellow ballad-like acoustics before once more raining down with the heaviness and intensity we are familiar with. An entrancing guitar solo swings your head alongside the creepy melody, and captivating lyrics like your eyes are beautiful but so cruel. This is a song that tells a dark tale of discovery, memory, and protection.

11 tracks flow together in all, including the lengthy “A Whole New World” taking the title spot with an 8:24 minute run time; each song tells a new story that wraps into a bigger world to explore with ballads like “I See Your Power” and “Silence.” But we are left with no shortage of epic intros and vibrant solos like that of “Passengers Between the Rails of Life” which has become my personal favourite. The atmosphere of this album from beginning to end is reminiscent of walking through a mysterious woodland in twilight. What is lurking in the shadows? What peace may await us, if there is peace to be had at all? And what else has Metalwings got waiting beyond the curtains? Song after song, they cease to amaze me with not only their inspirational lyrics but, the length and intensity of their music that keeps the listener waiting for the next leg of their journey to begin.


Release date: June 11, 2021
Label: Independent

01. A Whole New Land
02. Monster In The Mirror
03. Like A Willow Without Tears
04. I See Your Power
05. Silence
06. Still Believe In Us
07. Killer Of The Angel’s Love
08. Wonders Of Life
09. Passengers Between The Rails Of Life
10. Second Chance
11. Milo Moe Libe

Review by: Chrisy Berryman 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.