News

Cellar Darling, Lyria, Secret Rule and more to stream their shows live

As you must know by now, just like many spheres of our daily lives, it’s also the whole music industry that’s been paralyzed by the outrageous coronavirus. Many tours have been cancelled or postponed, bands were left with financial problems and no answer when everything will get back on track. Since fans can’t go to shows, a few bands decided to go to them and even raise some money on the way. Everything’s possible in 2020, so get ready for the new era of live-streamed shows. Hopefully, not for long. 


Cellar Darling

Swiss progressive folk trio Cellar Darling was among the first bands to play with an idea of doing a live stream of their show in these difficult times. This one, for sure, will be very special as it will be broadcasted right from the famous Soundfarm Studio in Switzerland! “Because due to the current COVID-19 (“coronavirus”) pandemic, all of our shows have been cancelled,” explained the band, “which is extremely disappointing and has devastating financial impacts on Cellar Darling.”

“On 5 April 2020 we are putting on an exclusive, live-streamed performance to bring our show into your living room!” announced the band soon after the Turilli/Lione Rhapsody tour cancellation.

Tickets are pay-what-you-want, and if you can’t afford to contribute, you’re welcome to watch for free. Anyone contributing €15 or more will receive an autograph card as a thank you. The show will be streamed on Sunday, April 5th, at 20:00 CET (19:00 GMT / 15:00 EDT / 12:00 PDT / 16:00 BRT / 22:00 MSK). Click here for more details.

UPDATE: The stream is rescheduled to May 3. The band explains: “Last Friday the government issued a recommendation to all citizens to stay at home and announced a countrywide ban on gatherings of more than five people. Simultaneously, Soundfarm (the recording studio where Anna works as an engineer) has to temporarily shut its doors to customers and bands to keep within the boundaries of reasonable safety measures.”

Until the stream will take place on a new date, the band will entertain their fans in other ways. They will launch a “lockdown content” page featuring solo performances, playthroughs, interviews and more. “We will start this off by doing a live Q&A session on the originally planned date and time, that is on 5 April at 20:00 CET,” adds the trio.

Lyria

Lyria, symphonic metal band from Brazil, became one of the pioneers in the transmission of online shows in the country. This Sunday (March 22nd), at 8:30 pm (London Time), the quartet will perform directly from the studio, with tickets sold for “pay as you can” values. Lyria created its own studio for rehearsals and streamings, and with that, the project has lasted five years, and with each edition the number of fans that attend the event increases. During the exhibition, conversations take place between the band and the audience, making the relationship between them closer.

You can get your tickets here. Ten minutes before the concert starts, the public will receive a secret link, via email, to watch the concert whenever you want, since it will be recorded.

UPDATE: The stream’s been postponed until further notice due to unforeseen circumstances. A new date will be announced soon.

Secret Rule

Another band to stream their show live are Italians Secret Rule that just dropped their brand new album “Against”. The band had to postpone their European tour with Semblant and in the meantime, they would like to spend time with all their fans. They’ll be live-streaming a special show via their Youtube channel. “Only 2 of us can meet to do it,” explains the band. “Angy and Andy, because they live in the same building and the little show will be arranged with a few stuff we have at home because all our instruments/stuff are in our rehearsals room and we can’t go out of home at this moment because of the virus.”  

The mini-show will be streamed on March 19th at 6.00 PM (CET) and there will be an active chat to speak with them. Keep an eye on Secret Rule’s Youtube channel here.

Beyond the Black

German symphonic metallers Beyond The Black are preparing for the release of their brand new album “Horizons” in July, but also for a live stream this weekend. “We thought we could do what we can do best – and that’s making music, to get some positive vibes to your homes,” commented vocalist Jennifer Haben. As the band members follow the recommendations to stay at home, it will be only Jennifer entertaining you. She’ll be broadcasting an acoustic set via BTB’s Instagram this Sunday, March 22, at 4PM (CET). She might play some new music, as well. So don’t miss it!

Within Temptation

Following Amy Lee of Evanescence, who also passed the mic to her Dutch colleagues, Within Temptation will do a live performance via Instagram as a part of #TogetherAtHome initiative powered Global Citizen and in support of the World Health Organization (WHO).

Says the band: “We’re 100% onboard to practice social distancing together with you and help WHO getting the funds they need to tackle the coronavirus.” They’ll be doing a liveshow via their Instagram on March 24 at 9PM CET (1PM PST / 4PM EST). Don’t forget to tune in! 

Tarja

Nominated by Within Temptation’s Sharon den Adel, Tarja Turunen will also take part in #TogetherAtHome series powered Global Citizen in support of the World Health Organization (WHO). The performance will be streamed next Saturday, March 28th, at 1pm PT/4pm ET/9pm CET.

Temperance

Italian modern metal outfit Temperance will join #NapalmSofaSeries powered by their label Napalm Records. Alessia Scolletti and Michele Guaitoli will be doing a live acoustic session and q&a at Napalm’s Facebook page on Sunday, March 29 at 6pm CET/ 12pm EST. Tune in!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.