Music Videos News

The Agonist announce new album, release music video

Canadian metallers The Agonist have announced new album “Orphans” and dropped a music video for the first single “In Vertigo”. More details below.

The Agonist have been teasing new material for months now. The first updates regarding the songwriting sessions for a follow-up to 2016’s “Five” appeared in early 2018, and the band soon moved to Montreal based recording studio The Grid. Starting with drum tracking in June, all recordings were completed by mid-July.  The Agonist entered 2019 with huge plans. Today, the band finally reveals details of their long-awaited sixth studio album. It’s titled “Orphans” and will be released on September 20.

The vocalist Vicky Psarakis comments: “When I heard the first instrumentals for “Orphans” I was a bit shocked and confused. The music was really dark and heavier than anything we’ve done in previous albums and I wasn’t quite sure how I’d be able to match that emotion. But then you know all it took was writing one full song to get the ball rolling and 2-3 months later everything was done!”

“With every new album, we love to experiment and dip our toes into new territory, but there’s also a lot of elements here that are reminiscent of the earlier days. You can expect a lot of hard-hitting, fast-paced madness and many many blast beats! Vocally, there’s a wide range of styles, some of which I tried out for the first time, and the lyrics are mostly inspired by horror stories and real-life tragedies. Events that I felt a lot of people can relate to,” she explained.


01. In Vertigo
02. As One We Survive
03. The Gift of Silence
04. Blood as My Guide
05. Mr. Cold
06. Dust to Dust
07. A Devil Made Me Do It
08. The Killing I
09. Orphans
10. Burn it All Down

“”Orphans” is my third album with The Agonist,” says Vicky, “and I can’t wait to show the world what we created! We’re excited to finally share the first taste with all of you… Get ready for In Vertigo!”

You can watch the music video for the new brutal piece “In Vertigo” below: