Music Videos New Releases News Singles

Myrkur announces new album, drops new single

Danish dark folk/black metal queen Myrkur has announced details of her upcoming release. You can find more details and listen to the first single “Ella” below.

Myrkur’s third full-length is titled ‘Folkesange’ and is coming out on March 20 via Relapse Records. With the release of the new album, Folkesange, Myrkur has set out to journey into the very heart of the Scandinavian culture that marked her childhood. “Folkesange” relinquishes black metal for a refined yet far-reaching evocation of traditional folk, combining songs ancient and new to sublimely resonant effect.

“She is my version of a new folk-song, with roots planted in the past,” states Bruun about the first single “Ella”. “It is my ode to mankind and our connection with nature – a rite of passage as a woman and a rebirth-ritual in the sea.”

The album recordings are tied with another pleasant story. As Amalie went to the studio to record with producer and keyboardist Christopher Juul, she received some good news: “On I believe day 3 of recording I found out I was pregnant. It was quite the change of plans and had a great impact on me mentally and physically in the studio.” She recalls: “Recording this album with Otto in my belly makes it incredibly special to me and I am so touched by all your response to Ella.”

The album cover, which you can see below, showcases a painting by Norwegian painter Hans Dahl. “This painting hangs in my living room, it has been in my family for generations and I inherited it from my grandmother,” revealed the musician. “My mother used to tell me it was me in the painting and I’ve always had a strong connection to it. It feels very full circle to have it as my album cover for Folkesange.”

12 Jacket (3mm Spine) [GDOB-30H3-007}

1 – Ella
2 – Fager som en Ros
3 – Leaves of Yggdrasil
4 – Ramund
5 – Tor i Helheim
6 – Svea
7 – Harpens Kraft
8 – Gammelkäring
9 – House Carpenter
10 – Reiar
11 – Gudernes Vilje
12 – Vinter