Ayreon’s new album to feature Cammie Gilbert, Caroline Westendorp and more

Arjen Lucassen’s musical project Ayreon announces a new full-length album “Transitus”. Many famous metal singers including Oceans Of Slumber’s Cammie Gilbert, MaYaN’s Marcela Bovio, Caroline Westendorp (ex-The Charm The Fury), Epica’s Simone Simons, Trillium’s Amanda Somerville, Ex-Libris’ Dianne van Giersbergen, Kamelot’s Tommy Karevik, Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider and others will join this project.

The record will focus on a new story that’s not connected to the Ayreon universe and will fuse a sci-fi theme with a gothic ghost story, partially set in the 19th century starring lead characters Abby and Daniel. The story will be narrated by Tom Baker known from popular British TV series Doctor Who. 

Arjen Lucassen says: “I was looking for a real storyteller with a mature, deep, warm voice. As a kid, I was a huge Doctor Who fan and my favourite doctor was Tom Baker. I couldn’t believe my luck when he agreed to do it! We went to the UK to record him, and it was one of those unforgettable experiences.”

As for the wider album, he adds: “When I started this I just had no idea that it was going to take me this long! It took about three years from start to finish, and it pushed me out of my comfort zone musically and creatively. But I always need that challenge. The harder it is, the more fun for me to work on it! This is without a doubt the most cinematic and outrageous album I’ve ever done.”

“Transitus” will be released on September 25 in various formats, including a 25-page comic book illustrated by  Felix Vega. See the tracklisting below.

Disc 1:

  1. Fatum Horrificum

  A] Graveyard
  B] 1884
  C] Daniel And Abby
  D] Fatum
  E] Why?!
  F] Guilty

  1. Daniel’s Descent Into Transitus
  2. Listen To My Story
  3. Two Worlds Now One
  4. Talk Of The Town
  5. Old Friend
  6. Dumb Piece Of Rock
  7. Get Out! Now!
  8. Seven Days, Seven Nights

Disc 2:

  1. Condemned Without A Trial
  2. Daniel’s Funeral
  3. Hopelessly Slipping Away
  4. This Human Equation
  5. Henry’s Plot
  6. Message From Beyond
  7. Daniel’s Vision
  8. She Is Innocent
  9. Lavinia’s Confession
  10. Inferno
  11. Your Story Is Over!
  12. Abby In Transitus
  13. The Great Beyond

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.