Ayreon’s Into The Electric Castle Live Featuring Simone Simons, Anneke van Giersbergen and more

Ayreon, a progressive metal project of Dutch songwriter and musician Arjen Anthony Lucassen, will celebrate 20 years since the release of its third studio album “Into The Electric Castle” in October.  Besides a special re-release of this Ayreon classic, the album will be performed live in its entirety at four exclusive shows in September 2019 featuring renowned female metal artists such as Anneke van Giersbergen, Simone Simons, Marcela Bovio and Dianne van Giersbergen.

“Electric Castle Live” will feature nearly the entire cast of the original album, plus somevery special guests. From the original cast, Fish (ex-Marillion), Anneke van Giersbergen (VUUR), Damian Wilson, Thijs van Leer (Focus), Ed Warby (Ayreon), Edward Reekers (Kayak), Edwin Balogh and George Oosthoek (ex-Orphanage) will perform their roles.

As for special guests, Simone Simons (Epica), Mark Jansen (Mayan), John Jaycee Cuijpers (Praying Mantis), Marcela Bovio (Mayan), Dianne van Giersbergen (Ex Libris), Jan Willem Ketelaars, plus a super-secret extra special guest who will be announced later, are joining the shows.

The instrumentalists for these four shows will be Johan van Stratum (VUUR) – bass, Joost van den Broek – keys, Marcel Singor (Kayak) – lead guitar, Ferry Duijsens (VUUR) – guitar, Bob Wijtsma (Ex Libris) – guitar and Ben Mathot – violin.

Arjen Anthony Lucassen will join the cast to sing his original role as “The Hippie”.

“The Ayreon Universe shows were such a fantastic experience for everyone involved, and I’ve had loads of requests for more live shows, so we have decided to perform the entire Electric Castle album live in 2019, again in the venue 013!” says Arjen. “Because it’s the 20th anniversary of the album and it’s just been re-mixed and re-released, we figured this is the perfect moment to do this.”

Anneke van Giersbergen, Simone Simons and Marcela Bovio performing with Ayreon at Graspop Metal Meeting 2018. Photo: Kitty van de Waart

The shows will take place at Poppodium 013 in Tilburg, The Netherlands, on September 13, 14 and 15 (two shows).  Tickets go on sale to the general public on October 26. Don’ wait around! Tickets for “Ayreon Universe” live shows sold out unbelievably fast in 2017.

You can watch “Valley Of The Queens” – an intimate ballad off “Into The Electric Castle” – sang by Floor Jansen, Anneke van Giersbergen and Marcela Bovio live at “Ayreon Universe” below.