Albums New Releases News

Anneke van Giersbergen will release a live album

Anneke van Giersbergen will release a live album with orchestral renditions of songs from her more than 20 years long career.

“Symphonized” was recorded last May in Dutch venues 013 (Tilburg) and Paard (The Hague). Anneke performed alongside one of the leading Dutch symphony orchestras Residentie Orkest The Hague conducted by Arjan Tien. 

“When artistic director Sven Arne Tepl invited me to create new renditions of songs I have previously recorded, I was immediately enthusiastic. I thought it was the perfect prelude to my 25-year anniversary next year, as I made my stage debut with The Gathering in 1994,” explains Anneke.

Orchestral arrangements for songs from her solo career, as well as her time in The Gathering, The Gentle Storm and VUUR, were written by Marijn van Prooijen and Gijs Kramers.

“Instead of a band with additional symphonic accompaniment, we chose to solely use the instruments of the orchestra and I’m very proud of the result!” adds van Giersbergen.

“Symphonized” will be available as CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP + CD and as a digital audio download on November 16.


1. Feel Alive
2. Amity (originally released by The Gathering)
3. Your Glorious Light Will Shine – Helsinki (originally released by VUUR)
4. Two Souls (originally released by Lorrainville)
5. When I Am Laid In Earth (aria by Henry Purcell)
6. Travel (originally released by The Gathering)
7. Zo Lief (unreleased song in Dutch)
8. You Will Never Change
9. Freedom – Rio (originally released by VUUR)
10. Forgotten (originally released by The Gathering)
11. Shores Of India (originally released by The Gentle Storm)

To get a glimpse of what’s to come, watch the video of Anneke performing VUUR’s track “Freedom” with Residentie Orkest below.