Albums Announcements New Releases News

Superlynx Bassist/ Vocalist Pia Isa Announces New Solo-Album

Having played and written music for most of her life, a solo album has been brewing in Pia Isa´s mind for a long time. The bassist and vocalist of Norwegian heavy psych and doom act Superlynx, is now gearing up for the release of her debut solo affair, entitled “Distorted Chants”, on March 25, 2022 via Argonauta Records!

As much as Pia loves playing with Superlynx and other fellow artists, her ideas for this album seemed more right to work through on her own. Her music is rooted in slow heavy drones but also has a lighter, dreamy and hopeful side. Pia is inspired by massive soundscapes, heavy psych, meditative moods, desert vibes and eastern scales as well as her nordic coastal surroundings. But give ear, as Pia just premiered a second single taken from her “Distorted Chants”. Following the previously released, first song and video clip for “Follow The Sun” (feat. Gary Arce of Yawning Man on guest guitar), you can now watch a brand new video clip for the haunting track “Quiet Beach” here:



“The theme of Quiet Beach is represented by water – big wild waves, moving towards a quiet beach.” Pia says. “I feel very connected to the sea and a quiet beach to me is a strong representation of peace of mind and the best place I can find myself. I wanted to get a sort of wavy feeling in the song, the sound and video too. This is also one of the first proper videos I have made myself, since becoming more interested in working with video the last couple of years.”

Being open minded and not caring about fitting to any genres but channeling honest and heartfelt music in her own way, the album is deeply personal and been a cathartic process for her, stretching from her inner self and throughout nature. Distorted Chants was recorded in early 2021, and will feature high class guests such as Ole Teigen (Superlynx) on drums and guitarist Gary Arce (Yawning Man, Big Scenic Nowhere) on three of the album tracks.

“Distorted Chants” will be out on all digital platforms on March 25, 2022, with a Vinyl and CD release to follow via Argonauta Records soon.

Distorted Chants Tracklist:
1. Statistics 
2. Quiet Beach 
3. Follow the Sun (feat. Gary Arce)
7. Trauma (feat. Gary Arce)
4. Sleepless 
5. A Hopeful Reminder 
8. No Straight Line (feat. Gary Arce)
6. Mantra 
9. Every Tree 
10. Velvet Dreams



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.